7 1/2 weeks in, hitting a plateau

So, I’ve been working at this healthier-self project for 7 1/2 weeks now, and I’ve hit my first weight-loss plateau.  I’m actually 0.5 lbs heavier than I was last week.  It was bound to happen eventually, but I’m sure that I’ll work through it. This week my coach provided me with a two strength-training workouts that I’m supposed to alternate and do 2-3 times per week.  I’ve never been properly trained on how to use strength-training as part of a workout routine, so this will be good.  We’re focusing right now on exercises that don’t require gym equipment so I can do them anywhere.  Still, since the goal is fat-loss, the majority of my workout time will be spent on cardio.

One thing that I’ve been curious about is regarding my daily calorie intake.  I know my RMR is about 1760, so I’m supposed to keep my daily intake between 1800 & 1900.  I’ve been wondering though about those days that I do some serious exercise, like if I go on a day-long hike that burns 2500 calories, should I eat those calories?  What about days I only exercise a little bit and burn 300-400 calories, should I eat those?  My coach answered that calorie burning in exercise is so unpredictable and unmeasurable on an individual basis, that I should never do a calorie-for-calorie recovery of exercise.  Instead, if I have a major work-out day I can up my daily intake to about 2300 maximum. Perhaps that’s why I was never able to lose more than 15 pounds on my own in the past.

The big news for this week is that my blood profile finally came in from the hospital.  It turns out that while I might be carrying around way too much fat, my cholesterol is totally fine.  I’m in the “desirable” range for my total, HDL level, LDL level, and my HDL/LDL ratio.  In fact, I was barely in the “desirable” range, and could very well be in the “ideal” range by the end of my Y Be Fit program.  Yay!

This coming week, my goals are:

  • Get up to 300 minutes/week cardio workouts (still hitting between 200 & 250 / week)
  • Attend the faculty/staff spin class (couldn’t last week because of finals)
  • Follow my coach’s strength-training guide at least twice.

