Some personal updates

So, instead of offering any commentary this week, I thought I would give an update about my progress towards becoming a counselor.

I graduated last year in August.  In case you’re unfamiliar with the process of becoming a counselor, first you get an appropriate master’s degree, then you get some type of temporary license, and then if you haven’t been naughty and you get all your hours, you get a real licence.

Well, as of July 5, 2013, only 11 months after graduating, I got my temporary license.  It took me a little while longer than I would have liked, but I finally got it.  (Hey, when you don’t start graduate school until you’ve already had two kids, you have two more during school, and your undergraduate degree was in a different field, it can take a little longer to get from point A to point B.)

I will be starting my counseling career with a great clinic called The Healing Group.  I’m really excited because the other counselors I’ve met with are theoretically similar to me, but have a diversity of backgrounds and ideologies so I should be able to learn a great deal.  I’ve been told that I will receive guidance in  dialectical-behavioral therapy, which was not part of my graduate training.  I’ve been reading up on it quite a bit though, and I like how it combines the empirically based cognitive-behavioral therapy techniques with mindfulness and other existential approaches.

Eleven months is quite a break from working with true mental health clients (although sometimes the students I meet with are pretty darn close), so I’m hoping it is like riding a bike.  I do hope that once I get back in the saddle I can start using this blog to write some articles that address more mental health issues and that can relate to preventative techniques for everyday people, who just need help with stresses, but not necessarily therapeutic assistance.

